Year 7 and Year 8 Cricket Success

The Year 7 cricket team were set to repeat the current Year 8's work from last year and become the SMR Champions for 2023. The first match against Cheltenham was a tough fought battle, only getting the final runs during the 18th over. 

A nerve racking grand final match approached us with Dromana exceeding 150 runs in their first match. A great bowling display by a few individuals set the tone for the match by keeping Dromana to 95 runs total. Through an excellent early performance from the top order of batsmen allowed McKinnon to chase down the total with 5 overs to spare in the innings. It was truly a dominant display by all involved on the day with a special mention to Asher Dunne for helping out the boys. 

McKinnon back to back SMR Champions (2022 & 2023)

Coach: Mr Ben Reid 
Captain/ Vice Captain: Ajay Mehta & Finn Rowe Hansen

Mr Ben Reid 
PE & Sport Teacher

Year 8 Cricket SMR Final

After dispatching of Edenbrook Secondary College in the SMR Quarter Final, the all conquering Year 8 Cricket team returned to Aspendale Gardens to face Cheltenham Secondary College in the SMR Semi Final.

Batting first, we managed to smash up a great total of 5/196 in our allotted 20 overs with Archer Hankin anchoring the innings with 50 not out, Ayan Arya batting beautifully for 43, Captain, Tanish Singh making 39 and Harvey Weigall coming in at the end of the innings and belting 30 off about 15 balls.

In reply, Cheltenham actually batted very well but we were able to restrict them to 4/160 and claim victory. Alex Bridges, Adam Arbaitman and Ishi Tiwari all claimed a wicket each for us.

This set up for McKinnon to play Frankston High in the final and after winning the toss, we chose to bat first. Harish Salwathura and Tanish Singh batted very aggressively and set up our very respectable total of 4/176. Harish made 58, Tanish 38 and Harvey Weigall again controlled the end of the innings with 31 not out.

Frankston started pretty well in reply but Adam Arbaitman changed the game with three wickets in three overs to have us in control of the match. Frankston never threatened after that and made 8/103 in reply. Riva Guliya, Ishi Tiwari and Neel Parab joined Adam with a wicket each for the bowlers.

Greg Hoskin